Leon Steyn is a Public Speaker, Facilitator-Trainer, and international Author of Books and Articles that teach personal development skills and talent development at organizations.


In 1962, Kübler-Ross10 and her husband moved to Denver, Colorado, to teach at the University of Colorado Medical School. She had been disturbed by the treatment of the dying throughout her time in the United States and found nothing in the medical school curriculum at the time that addressed death and dying. Filling in for a colleague one time, Kübler-Ross brought in a 16-year-old girl who was dying from leukemia into the classroom. She told the students to ask the girl any questions they wanted. But after receiving numerous questions about her condition, the girl erupted in anger and started asking the questions that mattered to her as a person, such as what was it like to not be able to dream about growing up or going to the prom, according to an article in The New York Times.

Moving to Chicago in 1965, Kübler-Ross became an instructor at the University of Chicago’s medical school. A small project about death with a group of theology students evolved into a series of well-attended seminars featuring candid interviews with people who were dying. Building upon her interviews and research, Kübler-Ross wrote “On Death and Dying” (1969), which identified the five stages that most terminally ill patients experience: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The identification of these stages was a revolutionary concept at the time, but has since become widely accepted.

Diagrammatically, the model looks like this:

Besides the above given 5 stages of grief or the Kübler-Ross Method, there are some other variations of change management models available too. Such an example is The ADKAR Model.

This model was created by Prosci for individual change management. This variation or model demonstrates the 5 ingredients needed for change to be possible and successfully implemented. These 5 ingredients are given as follows:

1. Awareness – Awareness is a very significant building block that helps one understand why change is important and needed.

2. Desire – The desire to be a part of change and support; it is another vital ingredient.

3. Knowledge – The desire is incomplete without knowing how change can be brought about.

4. Ability – Even on having the desire to change and the knowledge to bring about this change, things can go in vain if the individual does not have the ability to grow with it.

5. Reinforcement – This building block is important to sustain the change.

At this stage of your transformational journey, you should be in quite an advanced stage of acceptance. Continue to work on this, and let loose the old habits (unlearn) and treasure the new gems (new learning) which will enrich your life and your relationships.

Resources: Photo by Brittney Weng on Unsplash

Post 21 of 28

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All